A Laosy election

April 28, 2011 § 6 Comments

I have a new job and so I have been blogging less. I’m not going to stop completely though – in fact counter-intuitively I am going to have more time once I actually start – it’s just this getting to grips stage which is difficult blog wise.

Anyhoo, so we’ve had some interesting elections, which others have written about extensively. Then next Monday we have Canada which Gael from World Elections is the acknowledged expert on. He has written about it here. Then on the fourth there’s Madagascar and on the eighth Chad. If you look at blog posts passim you’ll see that whilst Chadian politics is very interesting this election will be a formality, whereas Madagascar is juicier what with the constitutional challenges, attempted coups and the like. Even so expect no change. Think Africa has a good Madagascar article.

On the 7th Ecuador will have a referendum on judicial independence which will be interesting in terms of how it effects Correa’s relationship with his critics (see Ecuador profile) but not really in of itself.

So the only election I’m going to cover is Saturday’s in Laos. And I’m afraid I’m going to be pretty cursory here too. Laos is a one party state. Only Lao People’s Revolutionary Party candidates, and one or two approved non partisans, can stand. So that’s it really. Sorry.

§ 6 Responses to A Laosy election

  • Nightstallion says:

    Chad was already held on 25 April 2011. The 8 May date is from late October 2010, it just somehow stood on Wikipedia far too long.

    I’m also not certain that Madagascar will really hold an election on 4 May, but it has not yet officially been postponed, so we’ll see.

  • Thanks. Like I say I haven’t been following that closely these last two week or I’d have noticed.

    Are we sure that was Presidential on the 25th? I know there were about 8 suggested dates for the Parli elections. Deby won I take it?

  • Nightstallion says:

    I’m the same Nightstallion who’s doing most of the updating on the more obscure elections on Wikipedia, BTW.

    Yeah, I’m sure it was the presidential elections; as far as I am aware, there have been no results released so far, but as Deby faced only two minor candidates after an opposition boycott, I’m sure he “won” this election, yep. 😉

  • Thanks. Out of interest what sources do you use? I used to use a variety but found them to be less reliable on average than Wikipedia so I reverted to Wiki

    If you felt like making comments on my upcoming election list it would be much appreciated.

  • Nightstallion says:

    Well, I yearly create a list of all elections in the coming year using

    http://www.mherrera.org/elections.htm

    Although he’s sometimes off by a year (mistaking four-year terms for five-year terms, …), it’s generally a good baseline. I read a couple of news sources daily or semi-daily, and those election date changes which I still miss are usually catched by someone else on Wikipedia… 😉

    To the best of my knowledge, the Wikipedia Electoral calendar 2011 is up-to-date.

  • Nightstallion says:

    Elections in Madagascar officially postponed, both presidential and parliamentary elections in September 2011. Just FYI.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Laosy election at Who rules where.

meta

